Give to the Max Day 2021 - Alderman Memorial Graduate Award Fund

November 10, 2021

Give to the Max Day is Minnesota’s statewide day of giving. This year we are raising money for our graduate students through the Alderman Memorial Graduate Award Fund

The Alderman Award recognizes graduate students who are doing outstanding work in research, teaching, or extension. We use this award to recognize a “graduate student of the year”. The students who receive this award go above and beyond to help their fellow graduate students, the department, and the community while also maintaining high levels of work. 

Last year graduate student Seth Wannemuehler received this outstanding award. Wannemuehler was nominated by his advisor, Jim Luby. “Seth is a deserving recipient of the Alderman Award, he has shown to be a conscientious communicator, he has actively sought out extracurricular opportunities and leadership roles within the department and the Applied Plant Science graduate program, and he has been selfless with his time in helping his peers with their research and presentations. It is wonderful that we can acknowledge him in this way.”

Wannemuehler said, “This award came at a crucial time, I was able to use this money to help with living expenses as well as some other odds and ends for my research. It offered a lot of relief for me and allowed me to concentrate on my research and degree. 

Some past recipients of this award include Ann Marie Connor, Vance Whitaker, Karin Kettenring, Madeline Leslie, Angela Hendrickson Culler, Matthew Clark, Michael Nelson, Carrie Eberle, Veronica Justen, Steven McKay, Peyton Ginakes, Alexander Susko, Soon Li Teh, Jennifer Boldt, Hannah Swegarden, Garett Heineck, Vivian Wauters, Matthew Gullickson, Bruce Cunliffe, Nadilia Gomez, Esther McGinnis, and David Zlesak. Check out this video of some of our past recipients talking about how the award helped them.

Join us on November 18th for Give to the Max Day! Want to help us earn more? Check out the extra Give to the Max Day incentives.